No Bake Peanut Butter Pie

If you follow me on Instagram or are a frequent reader of my blog, you may have noticed that I took a bit of a break from posting over the last week or two. Sometimes we all need to give ourselves a break from social media, and I especially needed a little breather as I readjusted my routine to a new job this month. I'll be talking more about this change in another post, but for now I will say that the change I made was partially driven by my desire to immerse myself in a healthier lifestyle.

Over the last few weeks I have been so proud of how healthy, balanced and active I have been without going overboard or making any extreme changes. As someone who experimented with various diets throughout my early twenties, I've learned that the best way to stay fit or shed a few pounds is to simply eat clean and in moderation. For myself, I know I will never be able to give up sweets or carbs completely, so instead of running from these things, I choose to incorporate them into my diet in the healthiest ways that I can.

When I discovered this Peanut Butter Banana Pie on Julianne Hough's blog, I knew that I had to give it a shot. This no-bake pie is gluten free, vegan and free of refined sugar. If there's one thing I love, it's a guilt-free indulgence, and this pie is exactly that. Because of how easy it is to make, and how delicious it is, it is quickly becoming one of my favourite go-to dessert recipes. I've already made it twice this month!

It is packed with nuts, bananas, and only has two tablespoons of sweetener (I used agave) in the entire pie! The chocolate chips on top give it that extra juice, but if you want to make it even healthier you can omit them and it will still taste delicious.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo - Book Review and Exclusive Q & A with Taylor Jenkins Reid

If you checked out my Winter Reading List, you would have discovered my obsession with Taylor Jenkins Reid and her novels, Maybe in Another Life and One True Loves. From the second I opened them up, I immediately fell in love with the compelling story lines and charismatic characters in her books. Once I reached the end, all I wanted was one thing: MORE. Her novels are girly and fun, without being cheesy. There is depth and meaning within them all, which makes it so easy to get attached to the worlds Reid creates. When I heard about The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, the story of a classic Hollywood star who decides to give a tell-all about her scandalous life, I knew before I even opened it up that I was in for a real treat.

Set in present day, in the later years of her life, Hollywood legend Evelyn Hugo has finally decided give a much anticipated tell-all biography about her rise to the top, and of course, her seven husbands. When she chooses an unknown journalist, Monique Grant, even Monique herself is surprised by the unusual choice. How would Evelyn Hugo even know who Monique is? As Evelyn reveals the real behind-the-scenes details of her rise to fame, it becomes evident to Monique that Evelyn's choice was more than just a coincidence.

With a theme that focuses on female empowerment and chasing your dreams, this novel will be sure to leave you inspired and motivated. It's the perfect summer read to take to the beach or to read in a book club, and I personally found it impossible to put down. For fans of Old Hollywood, La La Land, and the world of show business, this is book is a must.

One of the lines that stood out to me the most, was when Evelyn said "Nobody deserves anything. It's simply a matter of who's willing to go and take it for themselves." I was so inspired by these words, and in true Evelyn fashion, I decided to apply them to my own life by reaching out to ask Taylor Jenkins Reid for an exclusive interview. To my pleasant surprise, she agreed, which completely validated this advice. Read on to hear all about the inspiration and details behind The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Bringing Britain Back


Whenever I return from a holiday, it's usually evident that I have been living life according to the phrase "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Whenever I visit Vancouver, you can usually find me decked out in Lululemon and athletic gear. When I came back from Switzerland last summer, I couldn't stop talking about the amazing cheese fondue we devoured on our last night. My return from London was no exception to this rule, and I especially found myself absorbing and adapting to all of the London trends and street style.

I picked up this top and shorts at Topshop while abroad, and even though we do have Topshop here in Canada, the stock we have in our stores does not even come close to what the flagship Topshop over on Oxford Street has to offer. We didn't even make it to every corner of the three story store during the two visits we made, and I could have easily spent a whole day there if I had the time. Seriously - the store has a full on cafe as well as different food stands dispersed throughout the floors! From the main floor, which is full of little pop-up shops, accessories and gifts, to the virtual reality water slide that you can ride for free, Topshop is more than just a store - it's an entire experience.

London Travel Guide

Ever since I started watching Made in Chelsea five years ago, I instantly became obsessed with the luxurious British culture that was portrayed on the show. I really didn't think that making a trip to London was in the cards anytime soon, but when Sean said we could go anywhere to celebrate our two year anniversary, that dream of mine soon became a reality. Originally we had planned on going to New York or Montreal, but when we figured out that London really was an option, we decided to book a spontaneous trip overseas less than a month before our departure.

From 'Made in Chelsea' travel guides, to recommendations by bloggers, to some googling and Pinteresting of my own, I really feel as though we maximized our week long vacation as best as we could. Before we left, I made a list of all the places that I thought would be fun to visit, and even I was impressed with how much we were able to cross off of the list.

5 Ways to Shop on a Budget

Ever since I started blogging, I noticed that the amount of money I was spending on clothes was gradually growing bigger by the month. Since I unfortunately don't have infinite funds to spend on shopping sprees, I really have to make wise choices and maximize my purchases when it comes to crafting my wardrobe. Lately, what has really worked for me has been to do large hauls from less expensive stores, like H&M and Forever 21, and to pair them with one or two designer accessories. Before I went to London, I decided to do my first Forever 21 haul in order to save the majority of my spending money for the trip. I ended up finding five outfits and a pair of shoes for less than $250! This was an impressive moment for me, as I used to try on piles of clothes there and never come out with anything I was happy with. 

Shopping at big stores like Forever 21 used to be so exhausting to me. As a result of the anxiety that came with a place like that, it was really not on my shopping radar until recently. This brings me to my first tip for shopping on a budget, which is:

1. Be Prepared

What I did this time that I hadn't done in the past was to browse online and on their Instagram page before I even stepped foot in the store. This way, I knew exactly which items I was looking for without having to wander aimlessly. It's nice to have options, but when there are simply too many, you need to have a plan. I definitely would have overlooked this dress had I not saved a screenshot of it on my phone for two reasons: 1. It looked much better in the picture than it did hanging on the rack, and 2. It was squished onto a rack of dresses in a tiny corner of a huge store.

Follow @ Instagram


Back to Top